Make A Donation

Get Involved

Find Resources

Attend An Event

Make A Donation

Literacy Champion Award

7th Annual Literacy Champion Awards

Nominations Open: Wednesday, August 17th

Nominations Close: Midnight on Sunday, October 9th

A Literacy Champion is a local classroom educator who has gone above and beyond to improve literacy in our community. Now in its 6th year, The Literacy Champion Award is presented to two early childhood educators teaching in preschool through 3rd grade.

Nominations will open Wednesday, August 17th and close Sunday, October 9th. This year we will once again have open nominations as well as self-nominations! Open nominations will require responses from both the nominator and the teacher being nominated.

Thank you to last years Literacy Champion Sponsor

Congratulations 2022 Winners!

Wendy Goodman, Preschool Teacher at Cragin Elementary

Wendy Goodman is a preschool teacher at Cragin Elementary School. She graduated from Eastern Michigan University and holds a Masters Degree in Reading from the University of Arizona. She also holds certifications for Elementary Education, Early Childhood Special
Education and Teacher of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing. Wendy has been teaching since the early 80s and 2022 marks her 16th year as a preschool teacher. Wendy has edited professional anthologies including “If this is Social Studies”, “Why isn’t it Boring”; and “Living and Teaching in an Unjust World”, facilitated literacy workshops nationwide and presented at teachers conferences around the world.

Christina Baker, 1st Grade Teacher at Roadrunner Elementary School

Christina Baker is a first grade teacher at Roadrunner Elementary School in Marana, Arizona. She has a Bachelor’s Degree in Elementary Education and a Master’s Degree in Early Childhood Development with an emphasis in reading. She has been teaching for the past 14 years and has taught, Kindergarten, 1st grade, 4th grade, and as a reading specialist. “I am passionate about reading and I try to spread that passion to my students through magical read alouds, engaging shared reading, fun buddy reading and enjoyable independent reading time. I strive to facilitate a magical experience so that they can grow to love books as much as I do. I admire the hard work my students put in every day and I love watching them grow as learners.”

What are the Literacy Champion Awards?

Watch the Videos below to find out more!



List of Winners


Wendy Goodman, Cragin Elementary School
Christina Baker, Roadrunner Elementary School


Haley Carolin, Keeling Elementary
Kristen Kvaran, Tanque Verde Community Preschool


Brittany DeFazio, Anza Trail School
Jennifer Connolly – Gale Elementary School


Ben Collinsworth, Emily Meschter Learning Center
Jennifer Lamoria, Roadrunner Elementary


Marcia Zatarain de Cortina, Sunnyside Head Start
Mary Carroll, Roadrunner Elementary


Caroline Carson, TUSD Five Star Quality First Preschool Program
Curtis Kiwak, TUSD Preschool Teacher